Maumee Police Officers Honored At Annual Awards Banquet

Maumee police Officer Travis Brewer is pictured with his wife Emily at the 27th annual Law Enforcement Appreciation and Awards Banquet. In addition to being named Officer of the Year, Brewer received a Five-Year Safe Driving Award and Five-Year Honorable Service Award.
Patrol officers Greg Kuhlman (left) and Andy Pollauf both received Ten-Year Safe Driving and Ten-Year Honorable Service awards. MIRROR PHOTOS BY NANCY GAGNET
Maumee police officer Andy King received the Maumee Police Division Merit Commendation Award and Five-Year Honorable Service Award.
Police officer Derek Sanderson (left) received the 25-Year Safe Driving Award and the 25-Year Honorable Service Award, and police officer Brian Walczak received a 25-Year Honorable Service Award.
Sgt. Rob York (left) received a 20-Year Safe Driving Award and Sgt. Jon Warden received 20-Year Safe Driving and 20-Year Honorable Service awards.
Maumee police officer Bryan Fritz received a Life Saving Award.
Maumee police dispatcher Tina Beadle received a 15-Year Honorable Service Award.
Maumee police officer Caroline Hoover received a Life Saving Award.

BY NANCY GAGNET | MIRROR REPORTER — Several men and women in blue were honored last week during the 27th annual Law Enforcement Apprecia-tion and Awards Banquet, which took place on February 6 at The Pinnacle in Maumee.

In addition to police officers and their families on hand, several city staff, elected officials and members of the citizens’ police academy also attended the event.

Maumee Police Sgt. Josh Sprow thanked those in attendance, especially the city administration, for continually supporting the department. He recognized officers who have died in the line of duty and held a moment of silence for dispatcher Rob Bunce, who recently passed away. He also thanked former Police Chief Jim MacDonald and newly named Chief David Tullis for their leadership.

“Having an administration with a vision of connecting the citizens with the police department is one of the many reasons Maumee is a great community to raise a family,” said Sprow.

While several officers were honored for safe driving and honorable service, the evening’s biggest award was presented to patrol officer Travis Brewer, who was named Officer of the Year. As the most prestigious honor offered in the department, the award is presented to an officer who has displayed exemplary service to the department and to the community, Sprow said. 

“It is an honest assessment of the officer’s ability to excel in his or her profession when compared to the performance of his or her colleagues,” he said.  

Three co-workers nominated Brewer for the award, citing his professionalism and strong work ethic. Brewer extended his appreciation to his coworkers and to his family, especially his wife Emily, for her love and support. 

“It has truly been an honor and a privilege to serve this great community and I look forward to serving for many more years,” he said. 

Tullis promised his fellow officers that he would “have their back” while maintaining the environment needed to be the very best police officers possible.

“Tonight, we honor the best. I look forward to working with each of you in making our police and dispatch operation a model for others,” he said.

In addition to the Officer of the Year, the following awards were presented at the ceremony:

• Citizen Commendations – Michael Szekely, John Yeager, Jenna Yeager, Pete Kolasinski, Tom Killen and Jessica Wyse.

• Class B Commendation: patrol officer Andy King.

• Five-Year Safe Driving Award: patrol officers Andy King, Billy Pollock and Travis Brewer.

• Ten-Year Safe Driving Award: patrol officers Greg Kuhlman and Andy Pollauf.

• 15-Year Safe Driving Award: Sgt. Josh Sprow and patrol officer Loren Boos.

• 20-Year Safe Driving Award: Sgts. Jon Warden and Rob York.

• 25-Year Safe Driving Award: patrol officer Derek Sanderson.

• 30-Year Safe Driving Award: Sgt. Steve Crowe.

• Five-Year Honorable Service Award: patrol officers Brian Hill, Andy King, Billy Pollock and Travis Brewer.

• Ten-Year Honorable Service Award: patrol officers Greg Kuhlman and Andy Pollauf.

• 15-Year Honorable Service Award: dispatcher Tina Beadle.

• 20-Year Honorable Service Award: Sgt. Jon Warden.

• 25-Year Honorable Service Award: patrol officers Brian Walczak and Derek Sanderson.

• 30-Year Honorable Service Award: patrol officer Roger Kline.

• Life Saving Award: patrol officers Tim Roberts, Brian Hill, Caroline Hoover, Bryan Fritz and Jerry Robinson.

Check Also

Swan Creek Watershed Ditch Petition Process Continues With Public Views

BY KAREN GERHARDINGER | MIRROR REPORTER — During the 40 years Cindy and Scott Killy have lived …