Challengers Win In Local AW Elections

Monclova Township Trustees Barbara Lang and Brian Craig campaign outside Monclova Prinary School on Election Day. The two incumbents will remain in office.

Some new faces will appear on local boards and councils in January.
In Waterville, Waterville Township and Whitehouse, voters approved challengers during the November 7 election.

Waterville Township
Kyle Hertzfeld, who garnerd 32.32 percent of the votes, is the only incumbent to remain on the board of trustees. Richard “Duke” Wheeler beat out incumbent Karen Schneider by 50 votes, with 24.55 percent of the overall votes. Julie Theroux earned 20.46 percent in the race for two, four-year terms.
Incumbent Keith Moosman (43.8 percent) was unseated by Brett Warner by 164 votes.

Incumbents John Rozic (27.88 percent) and Mary Duncan (27.2 percent) were re-elected, but newcomer Anthony Bruno (24.5 percent) unseated Chuck Larkins (20.41 percent).
In Waterville, voters approved term limit changes, so council members can serve three consecutive terms rather than two. Voters also approved two issues allowing Cocina de Carlos to serve liquor on Sundays and between 11:00 p.m. and midnight.

Incumbents Louann Artiaga (21.9 percent) and Bill May (20.54 percent) retained their seats, but Frank Billings (18.64 percent) will be replaced by newcomer Richard Bingham (18.64 percent). Katrina Huebner earned 19.08 percent of the votes losing a spot on council to Bingham by just 17 votes.

Monclova Township
Brian Craig and Barbara Lang will remain as Monclova Township trustees, after earning 38.59 percent and 45.11 percent, respectively. Challenger Don Flenner earned 16.3 percent of the votes.
Township residents approved a 2.3-mill renewal levy for fire services with 78.78 percent in favor.

Providence Township
Incumbents Stephen Kendall (36.4 percent) and Lee Bialecki (33.49) percent will remain in office, as challenger Dave Heitzman fell short by 49 votes, or 30.11 percent. Voters also turned down a 3-mill levy to raise funds for roads and bridges.
Anthony Wayne Board of Education incumbents Vicky Ryan and Doug Zimmerman ran unopposed.

Check Also

Swan Creek Watershed Ditch Petition Process Continues With Public Views

BY KAREN GERHARDINGER | MIRROR REPORTER — During the 40 years Cindy and Scott Killy have lived …