Anthony Wayne Cross Country Teams Place First At Norm Bray Invitational

Anthony Wayne’s girls cross country team bettered 11 opponents while winning Fremont’s Norm Bray Invitational on August 25. PHOTO COURTESY OF ANTHONY WAYNE CROSS COUNTRY

BY ANDY ROWER | MIRROR SPORTS — Anthony Wayne opened its cross country season by winning Fremont’s Norm Bray Invitational on August 25.

“It was a great day for both teams,” said AW girls cross country coach Kevin O’Connor.


The Generals boys team bettered 13 opponents in their championship.

Senior Matthew Yokum led AW by placing seventh out of 247 runners with a time of 17:23, sophomore Liam McGuckin followed with an 11th-place time of 17:37 and junior Jake Varner finished 13th at 17:42.

Sophomore Wade LaMastus next placed 18th with an 18:00 and junior Reid Miller took 35th at 18:42.

Classmates Colton Eckert and Aiden Smith then rounded out team scoring by placing 46th with a 19:06 and 56th at 19:22.

Two more seniors, Patrick Wright (58th) and Peyton Elliot (79th), also broke 20:00 on the day with times of 19:23 and 19:55 

An additional seven runners finished under 21:00 and in the race’s upper half.

These Generals included sophomore Will LaMastus (85th, 20:03), senior Frankie Croskey (87th, 20:09), freshman Rory Smith (88th, 20:09), junior Sam Rothermel (91st, 20:18), sophomore Jake Zajkowski (99th, 20:20) and seniors Charlie Bolone, (110th, 20:38) and Connor Woodward (116th, 20:48).

 Junior Zack Snyder also broke 21:00 at 20:58.

Juniors Jacob Roberts (21:09) and Jack O’Connor (21:18), sophomore Davin Dissell (21:39), junior Seth Campbell (21:55.0) and senior Zack Lindrup (21:55.6) finished in another tight AW pack, as did junior Ehtan Tonkel (22:06), sophomore Greg Dressel (22:23), senior Sam Reed (22:29) and junior Brody Stultz (22:29).

Seniors Isaac Westen-felder (23:34) and Dylan Crum (23:40), junior Jayden Flagg) (23:47), sophomores Dylan Fritz (23:51), Brendan Underwood (24:08) and Jake Minoske (24:10), junior Bryce Gilts (24:27) and senior Ryley Pruiett (26:04) then closed things out for the Generals.

Anthony Wayne finished with 83 points – 14 better than second-place Fremont Ross in the team standings.

“The boys had a fantastic day,” O’Connor said.

Bedford (102), Findlay (124) and St. John’s Jesuit (124) rounded out the top five and Bowling Green took sixth at 134.

The Little Giants’ Ethan McClory won the race with a 16:36.


The Lady Generals bettered 11 other competitors in their championship.

Freshman Ana Karmol led AW by placing fifth out of 171 runners with a time of 20:59.

Freshman Ella Karmol followed with a sixth-place time of 21:11, senior Kylie Sahloff finished seventh at 21:13 and junior Elly Yoder took eighth with a 21:14.

Freshman Cari Varner and senior Margaret Smith went on to place 10th and 13th with times of 21:40 and 21:50 and sophomore Lilly Hall rounded out team scoring by finishing 23rd at 22:37.

“With five runners in the top 10 out of a field of 170, we really had a strong start to the season,” O’Connor said.

Sophomore Lydia Swartz (24th) also broke the 23:00 mark at 22:41 and sophomore Sydney Willford (44th) and seniors Emma Schadewald (48th) and Cate McClure (52nd) followed with times of 24:21, 24:26 and 24:54, respectively.

Six more Generals finished in the race’s upper half, including sophomore Annalise Gouin (56th, 25:02), junior Sam Krouse (58th, 25:03), freshman Mya Sebek (70th, 25:35), senior Brooke Dressel (74th, 25:49) and freshmen Bella Smith (80th, 26:09) and Kenzie Miller (81st, 26:10). 

Senior Lily Hunter then turned in a 26:30, sophomore Brianna Klocinski ran a 27:49, freshmen Isabelle Whitehurst (28:38), Abby O’Connor (28:40), Lilly Schaller (29:14) and Morgan LaPlante (31:05) followed and seniors Jolie Lagger (31:06) and Grace Urenovitch (32:27), freshman Eliana Klocinski (32:51), senior Samantha Stack (34:19) and freshman Lilly Cluley (37:49) closed things out for AW.

The Generals finished with 36 points, while Notre Dame (48), Findlay (74) and Bowling Green (117) rounded out the top four.

Notre Dame’s Lauren Mick won the race with a time of 18:36.

“Coach (Craig) Smith and I were exceptionally pleased with the effort throughout the roster,” O’Connor said. “Whether a team member was a leader of the pack or deeper in the field, all of the runners gave a terrific effort through the finish line.”

Anthony Wayne will next head to Bowling Green State University to compete in the Mel Brodt Invitational on Saturday at 10:00 a.m.

Check Also

Regional Final A Walk In The Park For Hot AW Hitters

BY J. PATRICK EAKEN | MIRROR SPORTS — Last Saturday afternoon in Clyde, the sun came out …